Employer Branding

The benchmark for successful employer branding is when a company is overrun with applications from talented, highly motivated candidates and can take its pick from the most suitable. In order for this to be the case, potential employees must know the company and have a positive image of it – especially as an employer. They will want to know what to expect, what expectations the company has of them and what they can achieve in the job – only then will they consider the firm as an employer. Employer branding is thus all about positively influencing the external perception or reputation of a company as an employer. The technique of choice in-house is Employee Engagement, which is used to maintain the motivation and loyalty of existing members of staff over the long term.

 

Our competency

If branding is a tool chest to achieve corporate objectives, then employer branding is the right tool for the job of attracting and retaining the right staff – people who do their bit to ensure that corporate objectives are actually achieved, individuals who feel drawn by the company’s values and culture because they share them and identify with them. This requires clear differentiation of the employer’s identity from competitors, marking it out as an attractive employer brand that will lend the company a competitive advantage in the “war for talent”. We develop employer brands that are memorable but flexible, and agile enough to reach your target audience within very broad, heterogeneous job portfolios. With employer branding, we emphasise the aspects of the brand that are most likely to be influenced by the employees and their work and behaviour, and this creates a reciprocal effect: employer branding is derived directly from the main brand but for this very reason also contributes positively to the general perception of the brand.

BKW – Employer Branding

BKW is transforming itself from a traditional, quasi-monopolistic electricity producer to a leading energy service provider that can hold its own in a deregulated energy market. The company is dependent on finding suitable, ambitious employees to bring about this metamorphosis – and it needs an attractive employer brand to reach out to qualified professionals. The brand is summed up in its essence in its employer promise “shape the future of energy with us!”, which we have drawn directly from the headline brand promise “in good hands for the energy future”. The statement expresses what BKW has to offer current and future employees: an opportunity to shape the future and to achieve major goals as part of the team. Potential applicants will find attractive animations and explanatory videos about the job descriptions in the new job portal.

Our positioning as an attractive employer, the design and our core messages have all proven their worth – we have been flooded with positive feedback from potential candidates.

Sonja Michel, Head HR Marketing and Communications, BKW Group

Employer Branding

Employer Branding ist dann erfolgreich, wenn ein Unternehmen von talentierten, hochmotivierten Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern überrannt wird und sich die passendsten aussuchen kann. Damit das gelingt, müssen potenzielle Mitarbeitende das Unternehmen kennen und ein positives Bild davon haben – insbesondere als Arbeitgeber. Sie wollen wissen, was sie erwarten können, was das Unternehmen sich von ihnen erhofft und was sie dort bewirken können. Nur dann werden sie es als Arbeitgeber in Betracht ziehen. Beim Employer Branding geht es also darum, die externe Wahrnehmung oder Reputation eines Unternehmens als Arbeitgeber positiv zu beeinflussen. Intern setzt man auf Employee Engagement, um die Motivation und das langfristige Engagement von bestehenden Mitarbeitenden aufrechtzuerhalten.

Unsere Kompetenz

Wenn Branding ein Werkzeug ist, um Unternehmensziele zu erreichen, dann ist Employer Branding das Werkzeug, um die richtigen Mitarbeitenden dafür anzuziehen und zu binden. Menschen, die dazu beitragen, dass die Unternehmensziele tatsächlich erreicht werden. Individuen, die sich von den Werten und der Kultur des Unternehmens angezogen fühlen, diese teilen und verkörpern. Dazu braucht es eine klare Differenzierung des Arbeitgeberauftritts gegenüber Mitbewerbern – eine attraktive Arbeitgebermarke die dem Unternehmen im «War for Talents» einen Vorteil verschafft. Wir entwickeln Arbeitgebermarken, die prägnant sind, aber flexibel und agil genug, um eine zielgruppengerechte Ansprache innerhalb von sehr breiten, heterogenen Stellenportfolios zu ermöglichen. Im Employer Branding betonen wir den Teilbereich der Marke, der am ehesten von den Mitarbeitenden, deren Arbeit und Verhalten beeinflusst werden kann. Daraus ergibt sich eine Wechselwirkung: Employer Branding leitet sich direkt von der Hauptmarke ab, zahlt aber dadurch auch wieder auf die allgemeine Wahrnehmung der Marke ein.

BKW – Employer Branding

Die BKW wandelt sich vom traditionellen, quasi monopolistischen Stromproduzenten zur führenden Energiedienstleisterin, die auch in einem liberalisierten Energiemarkt bestehen kann. Um diesen Wandel zu vollziehen, ist die BKW auf geeignete, ambitionierte Mitarbeitende angewiesen. Und um qualifizierte Fachkräfte anzusprechen, benötigt sie eine attraktive Arbeitgebermarke. Diese verdichtet sich im Arbeitgeberversprechen «Schreiben Sie mit uns Energiezukunft!», das wir direkt vom übergeordneten Markenversprechen «Gut aufgehoben in die Energiezukunft» abgeleitet haben. Die Aussage drückt aus, was die BKW aktuellen und zukünftigen Mitarbeitenden bietet: Eine Gelegenheit die Zukunft zu formen und im Team grosse Ziele zu erreichen. Im neuen Job-Portal finden potenzielle Bewerber attraktive Animationen und erklärende Videos zu den Jobprofilen.

«Die Positionierung als attraktiver Arbeitgeber, das Design und unsere Kernbotschaften haben sich bewährt. Wir werden von positiven Rückmeldungen seitens potenzieller Bewerber überflutet.»

Sonja Michel, Verantwortliche Personalmarketing und -kommunikation, BKW Group